Red-and-Blue Tuinal, Lipstick-Red Seconals…


Before I become verbose and forget to mention things of utmost importance: T got a blog!! Yes yes she did she did!! You must check it out right here, right now.

–~–
Warning: the following blog was written at 3am by a rather hormonal insomniac. No copyright infringement was intended.
–~–

Ladies and Gentlemen, of the Blog of Angels and Wrong Theories… avoid mono.

If I could offer only one tip for everyday life, that would be it. The long-term benefits of mono (that involve screwing up your life in far too many ways to count) have been proven by scientists. Whereas the rest of my advice has no basis whatsoever and should be ignored from here on in. But I will dispense this advice, and make you read it, now…

Enjoy the power and beauty of your youth. I can say that, as I am now 20 and have lived through my good years. But trust me, when you’re 20, you’ll look back at photos of yourself in high school, and recall in a way you can’t grasp now, how much you really did actually hate that guy, and how much sleep you got back then. The only bags under your eyes then were made by makeup.

Definitely worry about the future. Or, don’t, but then don’t complain when it bites you in the ass one day when you graduate and realize you’re not prepared for life. Things you shouldn’t worry about include: what you were wearing to that party, who drank how much, which drugs are better value for money and how many notches are on your bedpost. No one gives a damn in real life.

Do one thing every day that grounds you.

Dance.

Know, that the first guy won’t be the only guy. And if he is, then congratulations you are one in a million.

Brush.

Don’t waste your time on jealousy. When you grow up, most of the girls who were popular and who gave you hell at school will be pregnant and unemployed, smoking two packs a day and complaining about their children. You will have a life.

Act your age, not your shoe size. If your age is your shoe size then ignore this point.

Keep the stories you wrote as a kid, throw away the exam papers school sends home.

Breathe.

Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your life. I studied the field that was my dream career, and found my interest lay in other areas. My friends may be two years ahead of me at uni, but I already have a degree under my belt. Take your time, life’s a journey.

Eat plenty of chocolate.

But be kind to your teeth; you’ll miss them when they’re gone.

Maybe you’ll date in high school, maybe you won’t, maybe you’ll date in college, maybe you won’t, maybe you’ll find your life partner when you walk into them on the pedestrian crossing, maybe you’ll get your first kiss at 25. Whatever happens, go with it, and don’t try to rush it. Things happen for a reason and even if you don’t know what that reason is, it’s probably for the best.

Enjoy your body. Use it every way you can, but don’t allow yourself to be used. Find your style and go with it; if you can rock a pair of denims and a tee with as much grace as models present couture on the runway you’ll have the world in the palm of your hand.

Sing… even if you can’t and only do it when the stereo is on full blast in the car.

Never read the manual, just poke buttons till something happens. The fun’s in exploring.

Do NOT read beauty magazines. Trust me when I say you don’t want to be a stick and wear inches of makeup.

Get to know your parents; I found my best friend in mine. Be nice to your siblings if you have any, you have no idea how lucky you are if you do.

Make new friends but keep the old, one is silver the other gold. Make an effort to get in touch with people from your past. Times change, and the people you once hated for having longer hair than you, might share every common interest you have now.

Live with flatmates for a time, but move out before you get too sloppy. Live with your parents for a time, but move out before you get too lazy.

Read.

Accept certain inarguable truths: food always tastes better from someone else’s lunchbox, some people never change, and life goes on, and as it does you’ll get older, and fantasize that when you were young nothing was better than home-made soup, that idiots eventually grew a brain and that when life goes on, it’s a good thing.

Learn your manners.

Don’t expect anyone else to support you. Maybe you never had a chance to get a part time job as a kid. Get one now. The more experience you have by the time you graduate (even if it’s nothing to do with the field you want to study) the better. Trust me.

Don’t get plastic surgery. Seriously.

Don’t believe everything you hear on TV, but also don’t discount it all as falsehood. Any information we gather adds to our personal growth as a person. Using this information to help others is like a bird regurgitating food for her young: sounds nasty, but it’s good for you.

But trust me on the mono…

–~–

Insomnia is a bitch. It makes my brain work backwards and my bones hurt. The entry was based on a famous speech-turned-song by Baz Luhrman, the original of which can be found here. But in all honesty, a lot of the stuff I said there may be put down to sarcasm, guns and hormones, but that doesn’t mean it’s wrong. Read it carefully, maybe you’ll learn something.

In other news I set myself a challenge to make more videos and post them up no matter how unhappy I am with them. Which means that I may very easily plague you all with my attempts at trailers for films I like. To get the ball rolling, the first one was made for Inception and can be found on my Youtube page.

Till next Castiel day, folks.

Mood: Indifferent.
Music: I Gave You All – Mumford and Sons
Movie: The Runaways
Book: I STILL NEED RECOMMENDATIONS

10 responses

  1. Q

    …And see what you’ve done now?… You’ve gone and taken every word of MY favourite spiel! …And what am I supposed to do now? Try and do YOUR favourite spiel, which (generally in the past) was, “You think you know everything?! Too bad – you know what? YOU KNOW NOTHING!!!! I – DO!!!!”

    Life ain’t a beach, that’s for sure, but it ain’t the other B-word either. It’s in-between.
    And if you think you’ve found your career this time, go on and try it. But in the interim, try to realise – “there is no spoon!” One job in the industry is NOT all that industry can offer. You can safely say you’ve exhausted every avenue when you have about 120 rejections under your belt. Sounds nasty (like the regurgitated food) but trust ME on that – when you will have gone and done that, you can say “I’ve done everything I could here, I have had enough, and now I am doing a U-e and going… right THERE, around the corner and to the left!” :)

    Love – always :)

    June 10, 2010 at 08:26

    • V

      Hehe I had to take SOMETHING didn’t I?? You seem to have so much fun with your spiels that I thought I’d try one out too :D

      And I know that… I emailed the trailer guy last night/this morning so we’ll see what happens there :)

      And I’ve had rejections before… hehe remember when I was trying to get a job (which eventually ended up being at Borders) and I applied to over 70 places and got only 2 interviews? I’m not looking forward to that happening again, but it will next week when I’ll print out my CVs and go job hunting, again.

      And I do trust you :) I’m at the ripe ol’ age where stuff you told me when I was a kid makes sense :P

      June 10, 2010 at 19:37

  2. Tam

    Thankee for the mention :)

    V. You are 20!!! YOU ARE 20!!!! 30 year olds are looking at you right now going “you fool!!! you ARE in the prime of your youth right now” You are at the age where you’re old enough to drink, to drive, to make your own decisions and not worry about a 12pm curfew. And young enough to do all of that!! Hell, I’m almost 23 and I’m looking at you myself right now going “you fool!!! you ARE in the prime of your youth right now”.

    Yes, yes, I know, neither of us drink much, nor stay out parting till all hours to worry about said curfew. But that isn’t the point.

    Why are you lamenting a wasted youth? Baz Lurhman at least has an excuse. His youth has, regretably, passed him. YOURS HASN’T!!!!!

    And yes, yes, I know, life has become a lot more complicated for us now, when we have to work long hours to make a living, and cannot take life for granted as much as we once did back when we couldn’t drink (legally in public), couldn’t drive, and had to worry about curfews (again, if you partied…) and couldn’t always make your own decisions. But seriously, YOU ARE 20!!!

    …you don’t have to worry about wasted youth for *at least* another decade.

    *calms down the flailing*

    I think I may know what partially inspired you to write on this particular topic.

    …and you’re only 20 hon.

    June 10, 2010 at 13:07

    • V

      Hehe I love this :D now I’ll get people who are older than me (namely you, Ariel and Q) telling me that I am at the prime of my youth and younger people (like everyone else) telling me “shut up I don’t believe you blah blah blah” it’ll be good times :D

      And don’t worry, Tammy-mine, I know that I have just hit my peak of young-but-no-longer-stupid… and I don’t plan to waste it. Just that I was so blah yesterday that I felt the need to project epic sarcasm and annoyance at the world.

      June 10, 2010 at 19:40

      • Q

        I think both you and T need a holiday! :)
        V, for writing all that, which gave me a right fright for a moment, until penny dropped, and T – for not recognising straight away the sarcasm permeating all that eulogy!

        T – it’s not for real! Oh, how I wish it was – but alas!…. :)
        :) Then again – T doesn’t know V for as long a time as Q does…

        June 11, 2010 at 08:35

      • Tam

        V: *epic, massive, gigantic cuddles* (yes, they are epic and massive and gigantic, all at the same time. They’re just that awesome ;) ) I love you my friend.

        Q: Oh, I am weeeeell aware I need a holiday. I would love a holiday. Hopefully next month’s trips away for various uni-related ventures will give me the sea-change I need that will fool my self into thinking it’s had a holiday :)

        Don’t get me wrong, I definitely recognised V’s sarcasm. Her sarcasm outsurpasses my own a lot of the time. However, in my sarcastically-driven experience, behind every sarcastic facade is a slight inkling of truth. I know, I know, I probably didn’t need to address said truth nugget, but twas the best response I could muster from my frazzled brain at the time. I may not have known V for as long as you, my darling Q, but V knows I love her dearly.

        I grew up in a world of passive-aggression, and as a matter of practice I tend to look for things that often lurk beneath projected facades. My gift and my curse.

        Love to both of you :)

        June 11, 2010 at 12:49

  3. I think that is all very worthwhile advice. Though perhaps you should add, don’t eat TOO MUCH chocolate. I really need to get a hold of that one. And I don’t understand “brush.” Brush what? Hair? Teeth? Cat?

    I’ve more opinions you already know (mostly on the “tough life” thing, let’s not go there again) but… I won’t mention them. I will mention that I hope you feel better and work stops bogging you down. And insomnia’s a bitch. Right now I should consider going to bed- I’ve got this headache that’s throbbing through my eyes. But I probably won’t. So let’s be insomniacs together.

    Would you like a coffee cupcake?

    June 10, 2010 at 16:36

    • V

      Brush everything. EVERYTHING.

      Thanks, I plan to start a great big “life turnaround” from next week so… yay me. And the “tough life” thing was actually not made to be a jibe at you, so sorry if you took it that way, it was at someone else but he won’t understand a hint if it smacks him in the face so I had to be obvious.

      I would love a coffee cupcake.

      June 10, 2010 at 19:42

      • I didn’t take it as a personal jab, just acknowledging that it’s something we will probably not really agree on for a long time. :)

        Go to my blog for your cupcake.

        June 11, 2010 at 09:09

  4. Sam fisher

    I know this is something from 2010 but f*ck the people who put this person down. You can not compare problems with people in a negative way. Something that happens to someone could have a completely different effect on someone else. Anyone who puts this person down has no gras

    February 4, 2012 at 00:31

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 739 other followers