A Knight In Shining Armani


Check out the more in depth version for more ramblings and general good looking men.

Ok, I don’t think I’m alone here, but I like guys who know how to dress. For me, the “perfect guy” would know how to dress well, walk well, and smell good. By the last one I don’t just mean actually acquaint himself with soap, he has to be able to wear a scent that works with who he is. And those are just the physical things that I like about guys… I won’t even get into the details that I look for personality wise et cetera (because it would continue ad infinitum and slowly proceed into the ad nauseam sector which is dangerous territory)

I know that I, personally, have a rather high standard when it comes to choosing a mate, probably because like many people my age I have a tendency to imagine them all looking like a favourite actor, and acting like a mix of favourite characters. I get so involved with films and books and shows that I tend to imagine that every guy I like must (absolutely must) be as clever and funny and classy as the characters that I love. I know that, I acknowledge it (hi, my name is Val and I am a junkie for smart sexy fictional men…) and I have lowered my standards to fit with real life. But lately I’ve found that I also have to lower my standards for appearance too.

Don’t get me wrong, I am in no way a superficial person. I would never disregard someone by the way they looked. But I find it so hard to find a guy that dresses well lately that I find myself turning into a puddle of happy noises at the sight of a well-cut suit on a well-shaped body. Seriously. And I don’t even have a thing for businessmen… just their dress sense. And the way they carry themselves, holy damn. Plus, ties. I think ties are my weakness (along with suspenders, Chuck Taylors, Doc Martens, torn denim and aged leather) and they are such versatile things when you’re not wearing them *wiggles eyebrows*

I don’t get fashion, I really don’t, (haute couture makes no sense to me and more often than not makes me laugh rather than go “my, my, that’s an impressive ensemble”) but some things just look good and that’s undeniable. These things, in my opinion, are:

1) A well cut suit. It has to fit perfectly in all the right places. I love dark suits with a bright tie or pocket square and a light shirt. Alternatively, a light suit with a dark shirt and similarly-coloured tie. Cuff links and tie clips optional, albeit smiled upon. A vest is very much appreciated, and pinstripes are a winning combo always.

2) The ability to wear above-mentioned suit in a casual way; ie. sleeves rolled up mid-arm, tie slightly undone and top two buttons popped. Holy damn.

3) Fitted denim, boots, solid-coloured shirt (preferably classic colours like black and white and the primaries), worn leather jacket and wrap-around sunnies.

4) Scarves. Scarves are the accessory of the century for me… they can be worn in so many ways with so many things and there are so many styles of them that you just can’t actually go wrong here. Unless you try really REALLY hard.

5) High-collared woolen winter coats.

6) Collared shirts. These never get old, people, never. Especially when worn with skinny ties.

7) Layering. Leather jacket over vest, over half-buttoned check shirt, over bright/patterened teeshirt. Yuuum.

8) The ability to mix modern with classic: dress-denim under a suit jacket, teeshirt under a suit jacket, mixed patterns etc.

9) Vests. I love me my vests. Button-down, knitted, patterned, form-fitting…

Now, why did I get into this? Ah yes… The lack of well-dressed men my age around the city. The way people dress lately is terrible (in my opinion). Especially the guys. Most walk around as though they just rolled out of bed and walked out of the house. And one thing I truly madly deeply HATE about New Zealand’s proximity to the beach is that people get the idea that they can walk around in shorts and jandals EVERYWHERE and that it is somehow appealing. Newsflash for guys who do this: it’s not. Obviously there are tons of things to consider here: body shape, financial circumstances, age; but at the same time people should attempt to look good whatever their circumstances, right?

Am I just talking to myself here in my own happy little world of three-piece suits filled with characters like Neal and Arthur?

I mean, I have learned (the hard way, sometimes) that there are things that I cannot wear and look good in, no matter how hard I try or how much I want to. One of these things is skinny jeans. And no matter how envious I am and how much I whine at people who look so damn good in them, I know that I look like crap when I wear them, and I look absolutely hilarious when I try to get myself out of them (if, on a whim in a store, I miraculously get myself into them to start with, which is one mean feat). And I have resigned myself to that, and wear other things that I look good in. Why can’t other people do the same?? Why?

I’m not even asking for guys in suits (yea, ok, I am, but not at uni) just for guys to wear full jeans instead of cutoffs (in freaking WINTER), more-fitted-less-slept-in shirts, collared shirts layered over teeshirts, boots instead of jandals… something presentable that will turn a girl’s head and make her notice, not turn a girl’s head and make her think “I hope he never passes his genes on to the next generation”. Our generation is bad enough fashion-wise as it is, we shouldn’t make it worse for the next one.

*phew* OK, rant over. I feel so much better you have no idea.

Hokay… so… new stuff…

—> I changed my header!! Guess who my new coverboy is! He’s appeared in this post already ^^
—> The Very Literal Contest is still in full swing, and will be in full swing till October 31st. So if you’re a vidder, or would like to try your hand at it, then go for it!!
—> Life is slowly working its way down the dip in the sine curve again but somehow I’m happier than I have been for a while.

That’s pretty much the whole kit and kaboodle till next Cas day. 36/37 days till Supernatural!

Mood: Silly.
Movie: About to watch “The Wind That Shakes The Barley”
Show: Friends, season 4
Music: Young Heretics album “We Are The Lost Loves” (still) although a specific song that I like lately would be “Where Do We Draw The Line” by Poets of the Fall
Book: Beetle in the Anthill – The Strugatsky Brothers

38 responses

  1. Emma Lou

    The only thing I want to argue is the scarf thing. Yes, they are fantastic if you do it right, but it is easier then it seems to do it wrong. Some people just are not cut for scarves, the save way you are not cut for skinny jeans (which, btw, you shouldnt stress on too much- when you look back on them, they take something good and just make it pear shaped). I cannot do scarves. They make it look, no joke, like my head blew a bubble. But that’s just me. I agree with basically everything else here, though(If I were, y’know, straight…..)

    August 19, 2010 at 07:18

    • V

      Depends what scarves really… you could get a silk scarf and tie it loosely around your neck when you’re wearing a collared shirt to add a classier look to work-wear :) or have a long skinny (or fat) scarf that pretty much reaches to your toes and wrap that loosely around your neck too and let it hang down… I have both a thick and thin one (mum knitted both for me, and I adore them) and they’re really easy to wear :)

      August 19, 2010 at 15:08

  2. Q

    Wow… A real entry, and a one neary fit for a mag! :) A little bit of actual research on the topic, and yes, I would let you go and try your hand at real-life blogging journalism! :):)
    Makes me feel much better to know that a) someone agrees with me on something (mind you, this is just the first step. The next one would be to actually act what you preach! :P)), and b) that someone I like very much CAN write, rather than moan day in day out on fictional characters and why they do not exist in real life (well, there IS some of it here, but nevertheless :P)
    12-25-1

    August 19, 2010 at 08:28

    • V

      I’m flattered, but this was more me rambling than anything going in for publication :P

      And I do wear things that make me look good! You may not particularly LIKE the fact that I live in jeans and teeshirts but all the jeans and teeshirts I own compliment my bodyshape, and that you can’t argue ^^

      August 19, 2010 at 15:09

  3. B

    . . . I feel persecuted, I really do. And its the unfair kind too. Some of us just have casual personalities and don’t buy into this excessive bother over superficial appearance.

    Btw a rant carries more weight when it doesn’t have typos :P (they, woolen & patterened)

    August 19, 2010 at 10:46

    • V

      Muahahaha!! Feel the persecution.

      And this wouldn’t be my blog entry without typos… think about it :P besides, they add flavor.

      August 19, 2010 at 15:10

  4. Anneke

    Well, now I know why you kept getting distracted last night… I wonder who your favourites are the moment? Though I must ask, when you say a scarf works anywhich way, unless you’re trying really hard. Was Joseph trying really hard? Or is it just for the adorkableness?

    And there was something else… Oh yes, is it Mathew Bomer? Though it probably helps that #9 probably came from the same photoshoot?

    PS The way to get guys into collared shirts is to send them to France for a year. It works, I tell you.

    August 19, 2010 at 17:59

    • V

      Haha yea I was totally distracted by them :D and hey, I mentioned Neal and Arthur in the post, so they’re my favourite suited boys at the moment… And no, Joe was just being dorky. But it’s Joseph freaking Gordon Levitt. He looks hot when he’s being a dork.

      And yea, Matt Bomer is my new coverboy. For a time, anyway. He had to fight it out with Joseph though so… maybe the other will win later ^^

      And France you say? I actually really want to go to Texas now… did you know that Jensen, Jared AND Matt are all from there?? Most of the guys on TV lately that dress well and talk well and are just freaking awesome are Texan boys??

      August 19, 2010 at 18:02

      • Anneke

        Really, I didn’t notice they were all being churned out of Texaz. But remember, they’ve probably got stylists helping as well. Though I wonder how much it’d cost to suit-up the rest of NZ? And yes, I say France. Because one of my friends went there, and now he takes care in how he looks before he goes out probably going w/ your #3 and #6.

        I can’t wait to see what you’d do with Joseph in your header.

        August 19, 2010 at 19:01

    • V

      It’s thanks to me reading an Inception meme for the last three days that I find that last comment dirty… it really is…

      August 19, 2010 at 19:22

      • Anneke

        I looked at that last line too. Debated for a bit and decided why the hell not? After all, just because your minds in the gitter…

        So what do you think you’ll do with him?

        PS What Inception meme?

        August 19, 2010 at 21:03

    • V

      With him to him, pah, subtleties.

      I can link you if you like when you’re next online.

      August 19, 2010 at 21:12

  5. Lydia

    OK so. 1) I LOVED your post. As always, this made me feel SO much better! 2) I completely agree with you about guys and their *ahem* dress(?) sense. So glad somebody else feels like that too. 3) For someone as short as me whose also not stick skinny, what jeans do you recommend that don’t make me look like some random square? 4) A sign to show that I haven’t (yet) moved on from IB: ‘Cas’ does NOT mean ‘CAS’!

    Also, could you recommend me some Ukrainian/Russian music? I went and looked up the DDT lyric that you recently used on dA and I enjoyed it. :D

    SOON I WILL BE FINISHED IB!! :D

    August 19, 2010 at 19:50

    • V

      1) Thank you very much :D I’m glad I made you feel better.
      2) Guys need to dress well!! They just DO it should be a law.
      3) I would say go for bootcut or flare jeans that sit comfortably around the waist (ie not low-cuts) straights would look excellent on you if you wore heels with em.
      4) Hehe yea… when Cas (Castiel, full name) appeared on my favourite show WHILE I was in IB (or in the IB mindset) I flinched every time his name came up XD

      And yea, sure I can recommend you music. Thing is, I listen to classic golden-age Russian Rock and I dunno if that’s your genre… lemme know though and I shall recommend till my little heart explodes with joy.

      August 19, 2010 at 20:20

      • Lydia

        straights? with heels? good idea. I have new purple heels!!! :D they’re very very cool. Lizardskin purple. *swoons*

        All my work on Russia for IB has invaded my mind… so 4) makes complete sense to me! XD (I’m going to the KBB music festival for orchestra next week- and it’s not the KGB festival… but that’s what I said… *groans*)

        ANY Russian music is great :D ANY

        August 20, 2010 at 09:21

  6. Lydia

    haha just realised I asked you about music on dA. haha

    August 19, 2010 at 19:55

  7. Lovely post! I just recc’d this on White Collar Fixation. :)

    I adore Matt Bomer/Neal Caffrey all dressed up–and in that heavenly high-collared woolen coat–but I also love Tim DeKay/Peter Burke in the worn casual look. And, while I understand your complaints about beach-wear, I’m not sure I would mind either Neal or Peter in shorts ;)

    August 21, 2010 at 11:39

    • V

      Heeey! Thank you so much for your comment =) I shall blogroll you.

      And I wouldn’t mind them being beachy either… it’s not beachwear I have a problem with, it’s with guys wearing it in town, in freaking winter, all the time, and thinking that girls find it insanely attractive. Keep in mind most of the guys aren’t ripped and Neal Caffrey-gorgeous. It ain’t pretty.

      August 21, 2010 at 15:10

      • Lol!

        Thanks so much for the blog roll–and for checking out my writing blog. :)

        By the way, I’m trying to blogroll you on said writing blog–but it won’t take. I don’t know if that’s because I’m on blogger and this is Word Press? Or do you have an alternate URL?

        Thanks again!

        ~JRose

        August 23, 2010 at 04:33

    • V

      Hmmm it could be due to different webhosts… I know on here I can just type in any link and it blogrolls it for me =) sadly I don’t have another url…

      And you’re absolutely welcome, your writing is very very good, I look forward to reading more!

      August 23, 2010 at 04:36

      • Thanks! I suspect that blogger just doesn’t like wordpress. However, I put you on a separate ‘writing sites’ list on ‘Writing and Breathing’ and that worked. (Different sidebar feature–go figure.)

        August 23, 2010 at 04:52

      • P.S. My blog roll finally accepted your site! Yay! (I think I scared it into working when I lost my temper . . .)

        August 30, 2010 at 09:55

  8. I had to look up what “jandals” were. You New Zealanders and your freakish vocabulary….

    I’m going to begin with “I agree.” I melt for vests and suit jackets and Neil Patrick Harris wearing them… Especially the vests. There was one episode of HIMYM where he jumps out of bed and he’s nacked from the waste up, except for perfectly unsoiled slacks. I paused and stared.

    There’s one guy I know personally who dresses better than most in my grade; he always wears button-up shirts and jeans, and once in a while he’ll wear a vest. And he’s so damn slender and skinny, but he’s got broad shoulders, so he apears curvy… it’s odd.

    On the other hand, I’m not bothered by it much because most guys I know look presentable, at the very least, most of the time. “Clothes that fit” are nice; not giant jeans that hang down to their knees to reveal giant boxers and giant t-shirts that cover their boxers anyway. As long as it’s a shirt and pants that fit pretty well, I won’t complain. Same thing for girls; don’t look slutty, and you’re fine. I’ll probably be jealous no matter what you wear. Though not skinny jeans. With skinny jeans, I’m jealous of their legs, but not the jeans. In fact, if I was that skinny, I know what I would wear, and it wouldn’t be skinny jeans.

    By the way, you seriously need to sign onto MSN so I can talk to you. Here it is three days later and you probably think I never talked to him, don’t you.

    August 23, 2010 at 02:48

    • V

      Haha well you coulda emailed ;) don’t you remember the no. 1 rule of my hermitting? I never go online! Your email just zinged my phone into waking me up so I’m here now… will talk to you right after this comment is posted.

      And I agree. People who dress well enough to look good are worth the effort. Seriously. And dude, when I went to AIC, only the Japanese boys would dress well on mufti day (in case you need to look that vocab up too, it means days when you don’t have to wear a uniform) and so I spent most of my time oggling them. Man… you seriously have to get into White Collar and finally watch Inception… seriously… SERIOUSLY. Arthur in Inception will blow your mind, suit-wise. Holy shit. And in White Collar he dresses like that ALL THE TIME.

      All the tiiiime!!

      August 23, 2010 at 02:53

      • Hey, you. Yes you. You should make a sister post to this about what women should wear. :)

        September 11, 2010 at 10:17

    • V

      Yes, ma’am! Taken into account and thrown into the processing bin

      September 11, 2010 at 13:45

  9. Anneke

    Now I’m not saying I dislike your background (it’s freaking awesosme) but it’s beginning to annoy me. Everytime I look at it I have an incessant desire to arrow up to see Bomer’s face, except, you know, I can’t.

    Still, <3 the background.

    August 23, 2010 at 23:46

    • V

      Muahhahahahaha!! I could just send you my entire Bomer collection one night then you’d be contented :P

      August 27, 2010 at 13:56

  10. Cayza

    agreed, agreed and agreed. WHY DO YOU THINK I LOVE INCEPTION? Aaah, Arthur in dressshirt and vest, in zero gravity *drool*

    Some guy can look incredibly sexy in the “just rolled out of bed” look, especially if they wear rugged, lightly torn jeans and a soft, rumpled t-shirt that streches over the shoulders and hangs loose around the waist… guh.

    August 27, 2010 at 03:51

    • V

      SEE THAT KINDA “ROLLED OUTTA BED” LOOK IS HOT!! The one that is a guy wearing 3-day old shorts that aren’t even clean, and a teeshirt that has seen not only better days but also better body shapes is NOT HOT AT ALL.

      August 27, 2010 at 13:57

  11. Pingback: In Torn Denims and Kitten Heels «

  12. Pingback: Merely Players «

  13. Pingback: Formalities Aside «

  14. For another show with men in lovely three pieced suits try (the very aptly named) Suits. Which is about lawyers, I’m not sure if i had mentioned it to you or not. They’re all so very pretty like Neal ;) And the relationship between the two main characters is really well done.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1632701/

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kw4Uba14Au8&feature=related <- Thats from teh pilot.. Watch now.
    It's on USA network, I have the first 10 episodes if you want to borrow them, or at least I have them somewhere…

    And since I've completely diverted from the topic, I totally agree with you about the slim pickings. I think I compare people against the checklist and they always come up wanting when Matthew Bomer is on the other end…

    November 16, 2011 at 13:16

    • I made a specifically guy-oriented how-to-dress entry as well but people always seem to like this one better XD this is so WEIRD to me!!

      I shall look into Suits (hehe that sounded diiiirty) and see. I wasn’t really that excited by it though and might just stick with White Collar till the damned hiatus is over *shrug*

      November 16, 2011 at 13:34

  15. Pingback: It’s Time To Begin |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 742 other followers